Insights | 24 October 2014

Business analysis is a competitive environment. To help you stay ahead, our business analysis posts explores and demystifies the internationally-recognised certifications from the International Institute of Business Analysis (IIBA®).

Here we explore your FAQs for CBAP® and CCBA® accreditations.

How long is the exam?

  • The CBAP® and CCBA® exams each have 150 multiple choice questions (4 options to select from) and are a maximum duration of 3.5 hours.

What is the difference between CBAP and CCBA?

  • The Certified Business Analysis Professional™ (CBAP®) is the higher level certification for senior BAs and requires a minimum of 7500 hours of experience.
  • The Certification of Competency in Business Analysis (CCBA®) recognises those BAs with less experience but still requiring a professional BA certification; it requires a minimum of 3750 hours of BA experience.

Do I need to be a member of IIBA to do the exam?

  • No, you do not need to be an IIBA member, although members do get a discount on the certification exam fee and the recertification fee.

How much does the exam cost?

  • The application fee is $125 USD for each application (CBAP® or CCBA®) and is not refundable (i.e. regardless of whether your application is approved or declined). The exam fee for each exam is $325 USD for IIBA members and $450 USD for non-members.

How long does it take to get my application approved?

  • Applications are assessed and results emailed to applicants within 21 business days of IIBA receiving the complete application and the application fee.

Why would I book on an exam preparation workshop when my application is not yet approved by the IIBA?

  • As part of our CBAP®/CCBA® preparation workshops our experienced facilitators are able to assist you in preparing your application. Your facilitator is CBAP® certified so can pass on hints and tips for the application process. In addition, our 3 day workshop fulfils the eligibility criteria for a minimum 21 hours of Professional Development.
  • NOTE: We recommend that prior to attending training you ensure you have at least 3750 hours BA experience (CCBA®) or 7500 hours (CBAP®).

What is the split of marks for the exam?

The approximate split of the marks for the exams (over the 6 Knowledge Areas in A Guide to the Business Analysis Body of Knowledge® (BABOK®) are:

  • Business Analysis Planning and Monitoring 20%
  • Elicitation 14%
  • Requirements Management and Communication 16%
  • Enterprise Analysis 15%
  • Requirements Analysis 19%
  • Solution Assessment and Validation 16%

What is the pass mark for the exams?

  • The IIBA Certification Body does not publicly reveal the cut score or the pass rate for any exam. Raw scores are normalized to a standard scale. 500 is the minimum score needed to pass.

Does the accreditation expire?

  • To maintain your accreditation, you will need to gain 21 Continuing Development Units (CDU) every 3 years. One hour of classroom/contact time of continuing development = 1 CDU.

To find out more about CBAP®/CCBA® Certification Preparation Course speak to one of our Professional Development Consultants today.

CBAP® is a registered trade mark of International Institute of Business Analysis 
CCBA® is a registered trade mark of International Institute of Business Analysis
Enquire Now


1300 70 13 14


Stay Informed

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive quarterly industry news updates and stay informed of forthcoming PM-Partners group events.